Welcome to Beta Upsilon Webpage

The purposes of this Society shall be to:
1. Recognize superior achievement.
2. Recognize the development of leadership qualities.
3. Foster high professional standards.
4. Encourage creative work.
5. Strengthen commitment to the profession

We encourage you join and participate in our events and in the Circle discussions.

Please mark your calendars with these dates for our Spring 2018 events:
Spring 2018 Chapter business meeting March 26, 2018, at ASU Downtown campus in Health South Room 203.
Spring 2018 Induction Ceremony Saturday, May 5 at Scottsdale Convention Center 1:00-4:00 pm.

The Fall 2017 events pictorial review is in process of being created...stay tuned~





Log in to see this information

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

Chapter News

  • Fall 2017 Beta Upsilon Induction Overview

    FALL 2017 INDUCTION-Beta Upsilon Chapter

                The Fall Sigma induction ceremony for the Beta Upsilon Chapter took place on Sunday, December 10, 2017 at the Scottsdale Resort and Conference Center. The inductees and their families enjoyed time outdoors together chatting on the patio during the check-in of all invitees. A cash bar was available for the event. A holiday decorated box provided the collection point for donations for the chapter’s philanthropic designee for this induction: the UMOM organization.

                Our Chapter President, Therese Speer, began the ceremony with a warm welcome to all in attendance and provided recognition to the distinguished guests and board of directors from our Beta Upsilon Chapter. Distinguished guests included the keynote speaker, Dr. Lesly Kelly; Dr. Katherine Kenny, Dr. Pauline Komnenich, Dr. Kathleen Fries, along with several other Arizona State University Faculty and chapter members who were recognized to include: Dr. Cheryl Schmidt, Dr. Kimberlee Sutter, Dr. Denise Link, Professor Nathalie Rennel, Professor Charlotte Armbruster, Professor Margaret Calacci, Professor Cindy Holcomb, Professor Nathalie Rennel, Professor Heidi Sanborn, Retired Faculty-Barbara Fargostein,

    Chapter board members in attendance included Dr. Kim Day-Vice President; Professor Jacquelin Beals-Secretary; Professor Jennifer Green-Nurse Leader Counselor; Professor LeAnn Dykstra-Archivist; and Dr. Kim Vana-Leadership Succession Chair.

                On display during the event were two posters. Dr. Kristel McGhee provided a poster on her topic “Depression Screening and Glycated Hemoglobin Levels: Diabetes Follow-Up Measures” and Dr. Kala Sugathan provided a poster on her topic “Advanced Practice Registered Nurse-Led Transitional Care Program to Prevent Hospital Readmissions”. These two graduate DNP students were provided scholarships from the STTI Beta Upsilon Chapter for the opportunity to present their graduate work at national and international STTI conferences.

                Dr. Speer shared a short video on the name change of STTI to “Sigma: Global Nursing Excellence” before lunch was served.

                The lunch menu included a fall toppings green salad with dressing, a soft roll, citrus oregano free-range grilled chicken, roasted pee wee potatoes, fresh seasonal vegetables and roasted garlic jus, flour-less chocolate cake with raspberry drizzle and coffee for dessert.

                After lunch was finished, keynote speaker, Lesly Kelly, PhD, RN, addressed the audience of inductees and guests. Dr. Kelly is a health services researcher focusing on hospital-based nursing research and patient outcomes. Her presentation on compassion fatigue and burnout, encouraged both seasoned and new nurses to watch for the signs and symptoms. Due to the innate nature of the nurse role, emotional trauma and repeated stressful events can cause serious psychological and physical consequences over time. Dr. Kelly provided evidence-based research for interventions the nursing professional and organizations who employ nurses can implement to combat and prevent compassion fatigue for all professional nursing roles.

                The induction of the new members followed the keynote speaker. The candles for the ceremony were lit. Meredith Milowski, MSN, RNC, CNM, the chapter governance chair, moved to the podium and announced each inductees name. Professor Milowski read each inductee’s personally written bio as they recorded their name into the signature book; received their STTI honor cords from Dr. Speer; walked across the stage, shook hands with Dr. Kinney and received their certificate presented by Dr. Day. The 36 inductees in attendance were approved from the Prelicensure, CEP, RN—BSN and Graduate Student programs.       

                The STTI pledge was recited by the group and the ceremony was concluded. The inductees lined up for a photo opportunity set-up by the STTI board. A black backdrop with the STTI logo draped across the top and the STTI honor cords draped on each side, provided an excellent area for a keepsake photo to be taken.

    Thank you to LeAnn Dykstra-Archivist for this overview.

Upcoming Events

International Events